Digital Access

Digital Access
Access and all Shaw Media Illinois content from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
Local news, sports, business, classified and more! News you can use every day.

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
Have our latest news, sports and obituaries emailed directly to you Monday through Friday so you can keep up with what's happening in the area.
Local News

Democrats pick up four Will County board seats

Democrats picked up three seats Republicans previously held in the Will County Board on Tuesday night.

District 1

Republican Judy Ogalla and Democrat Laurie Summers will again represent Will County District 1 residents.

District 2

Will County Board Speaker Jim Moustis and Democrat Amanda Koch were chosen to represent District 2, defeating Republican Keith Ogle.

Koch was a political newcomer and U.S. Army veteran who did two tours of duty in the Middle East. Ogle beat incumbent Cory Singer for the second Republican nomination back in March.

District 4

In a solidly blue district, Democrats Jackie Traynere and Kenneth Harris ran unopposed.

District 5

Republican Gretchen Fritz was re-elected and Democrat Meta Mueller defeated incumbent Republican Darren Bennefield by more than 2,500 votes.

District 6

Republican Don Gould was re-elected, while Democrat Joe Van Duyne defeated incumbent Republican Debbie Militello. Van Duyne and Gould both separated themselves by opposing the controversial Compass Business Park.

District 7

Both Republicans Stephen Balich and Mike Fricilone were re-elected, defeating Democratic newcomer Kyle Killacky. Fricilone edged Killacky out by only 602 votes.

Fricilone and Balich campaigned as a pair.

District 9

Republican Annette Parker was re-elected, and Democrat Rachel Ventura defeated Democrat Jim Murphy, filling the vacant seat Will County Clerk-elect Lauren Staley-Ferry left behind.

District 11

Republican Julie Anne Berkowicz and Democrat Michelle “Mimi” Cowan defeated Republican Kathy Havel and Democrat Jim Kopchok.

Havel and Berkowicz did the unlikely in March and beat both Republican incumbents Chuck Maher and Suzanne Hart.

Loading more